Chapter Ten

THE TANAKAMINOMOTO FAMILY

THE SUMMER OF 1530 – IN THE MOUNTAINS OF SHIMIZU
A SAMURAI BATTLE – THE ART OF THE DUEL.
 
  • Strange happenings during my first night in Shimizu in 1996
  • The duel during the battle in 1530
  • I see Lord Tanakaminomoto no Yosinori for the first time
  • Lord Tanakaminomoto no Yosinori catches a glimpse of the future

Ryu Kyu KobujutsuI had the strange feeling that someone was standing near my futon and looking down at me. For a moment the mists parted and I caught a brief glimpse of an old Japanese man standing there, supporting himself on a staff, which he was holding in his right hand.

Then suddenly, I found myself walking through tall cedars up a very steep slope on the side of a mountain. I began to hear the individual shouts and cries of thousands of fighting warriors.    I watched two warriors moving towards each other. The two samurai now stood facing each other on the battlefield, holding their drawn katana in their right hands.

The samurai on the left suddenly moved.  The blade flashed.  Tanakaminomoto swiftly lifted his katana up into Sukui. He turned his sword into a Yoko Uchi – a side strike.  Tanakaminomoto no Yosinori released his katana from his opponent’s body and looked down at the blood-covered blade.

For some reason he turned towards my hiding place in the valley’s trees.  I had a feeling that I knew this man – Tanakaminomoto no Yosinori.

I turned onto my side on the futon as the battle sounds slowly faded and quick thoughts crossed my mind, “Why had I been shown this battle that had taken place between these two warriors so long ago?”  Once again sleep came as I tried to find my answers.

Leave a Comment ↓

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

